Category / Manifold Garden / Video Game

    Loading posts...
  • Unfolding The Garden – Weekly Design Show

    Starting on Saturday, June 3rd, I’m going to be doing a weekly twitch show called “Unfolding the Garden” where I play through old builds of Manifold Garden and discuss how the design evolved. The show will be every Saturday at 2pm EDT / 1pm CDT / 11 am PDT / 19:00 UTC. Each episode will…

  • Title Screen

    Title screen in Manifold Garden now changes based on player progress throughout the game. Wanted this feature for years. Finally added it. The code is still super messy, and I’ll probably want to clean it up soon before it gets to be unmanageable. The hardest part here is making the title screens scenes as they…

  • Basic Version of Intro

    Lots of progress done on saving / loading system. Super busy of late. Anyway, finally got a basic version of the intro, loading screen, quit + fade to start screen going: This stuff takes way longer than you’d expect. So much effort for these tiny details, but they really do contribute to the overall impression.

  • Smooth out exit

    I got the exit looking smoother! Still needs polish and optimization work, but it’s looking pretty sweet so far.

  • Water + Portals + Saving & Loading

    I finally got water going through portal working with saving and loading. It’s not perfect, but the basics are there. This is a really big step. It may not look like it, but there are a TON of really complicated systems at work here. Level streaming loading, persistent save system, portal, water, etc. The next…

  • Water and Portals

    Made some major progress with water today. Got water going through portals on a basic level. Still needs a lot of work.  

  • Water Corners

    Fixed up the corners of the water