Blog

Our everyday thoughts are presented here
Music, video presentations, photo-shootings and more.

    Loading posts...
  • Unfolding The Garden – Weekly Design Show

    Starting on Saturday, June 3rd, I’m going to be doing a weekly twitch show called “Unfolding the Garden” where I play through old builds of Manifold Garden and discuss how the design evolved. The show will be every Saturday at 2pm EDT / 1pm CDT / 11 am PDT / 19:00 UTC. Each episode will…

  • Development update video #6

    Development update video #6 is now up! It summarizes the last 10 months or so of development down to 5 minutes. These are some of the topics covered: – Save system – Menu – New water art style – Tree growing animation – New portal system – World shrinking mechanic The last one of these…

  • Recursive Portals

    There are now recursive portals in Manifold Garden!  

  • Imperial Hotel + Habitat 67

    New level inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright’s Imperial Hotel and Habitat 67  

  • World-within-a-world Improvements

    Made some improvements to the world-within-a-world effect. The key part now is that gameplay objects (such as the door, button, and boxes) are enlarged when you shrink down. Previously, it was just the environment. This makes the transition look much smoother. It is also based on time instead of frame rate. Finally, the duplicate instances…

  • Title Screen

    Title screen in Manifold Garden now changes based on player progress throughout the game. Wanted this feature for years. Finally added it. The code is still super messy, and I’ll probably want to clean it up soon before it gets to be unmanageable. The hardest part here is making the title screens scenes as they…

  • Basic Version of Intro

    Lots of progress done on saving / loading system. Super busy of late. Anyway, finally got a basic version of the intro, loading screen, quit + fade to start screen going: This stuff takes way longer than you’d expect. So much effort for these tiny details, but they really do contribute to the overall impression.

  • Working Version

    Manifold Garden now has a working version of every system in the game. Still a lot of work left to do, but this is a major milestone. That is all.

  • Smooth out exit

    I got the exit looking smoother! Still needs polish and optimization work, but it’s looking pretty sweet so far.

  • World Within World aka “Inception Effect”

    The last major mechanic to be implemented. I’ve had this idea since November 2014, and finally getting around to implementing it. Here are some gifs showing progress over several days: Version 1: Version 2: Version 3: version 4: version 5: version 6: version 7: version 8: